The Manuscript Cometh

I haven’t gotten to this point yet, but seeing the pros wrestle with edits to their first draft makes me hope I’m doing it right 🙂

Rosemary Clement-Moore

You know that feeling you get when your teacher is posting grades for papers or tests? How you brace yourself, take a deep breath and hold it like you’re doing the Ice Bucket Challenge?

It’s the same thing with books.  Imagine getting your corrected test or term paper back, only it’s 400 pages long.

My edits still come on paper. The UPS man (or woman) knocks on my door and hands me a big, fat package. There’s no mistaking it for anything else. It’s manuscript shaped.

MSS1

I bring it in and set it on the kitchen counter with a mixture of reverence and terror. What is my editor going to say? How much am I going to have to rewrite? How many stupid mistakes did I make?  The only way to know is to open it and find out.

MSS2

That’s a lot of paper. On top is a letter that summarizes all the…

View original post 377 more words

Leave a Reply

